Du Toit, Ko And Ewart Chosen As Finalists For Sport BC AOY Awards

From L-R: Jared du Doit, Naomi Ko and A.J. Ewart Are All Finalists For Sport BC Athlete Of The Year Awards

Three out of four golfers nominated by British Columbia Golf for a Sport BC Athlete of the Year Award have been chosen as finalists for their particular category.

Jared du Toit of Kimberley is a finalist for the Male Senior AOY, with Victoria’s Namoi Ko as Female Senior Athlete and Coquitlam’s A.J. Ewart in the Male Junior Athlete categories also being acknowledged as finalists with the winners to be announced March 8th at the annual Sport BC AOY awards dinner.

Also nominated by British Columbia Golf but narrowly missing out being selected as a finalist, despite winning the BC Junior Girls Championship, putting up four victories in total among 9 top 10 finishes and being the number 1 ranked junior female golfer in Canada, was Delta’s Mary Parsons in the Female Junior Athlete category.

The 3 finalists in her category are Nian Schultz from New Westminster in Athletics, Shallon Olsen from Surrey in Gymnastics and Maggie Coles-Lyster of Maple Ridge for Cycling. 

The Athlete of the Year Awards, founded by Sport BC, is the longest standing amateur sport recognition event in the country.  Awards in 18 different categories are given each year to athletes, coaches, and officials on their performance and contribution to sport in the province of British Columbia.  The awards play a valuable role in nurturing athletic success while recognizing extraordinary accomplishments in BC.

Finalists in the categories which nominees by British Columiba Golf will be competing: 

Male Junior Athlete of the Year
Finn Iles (Whistler) – Cycling
Benjamin Sigouin (Vancouver) – Tennis
AJ Ewart (Coquitlam) – Golf

Female Senior Athlete of the Year
Hilary Caldwell (Victoria) – Swimming
Pricilla Westlake (Delta) – Lawn Bowling
Naomi Ko (Victoria) – Golf

Male Senior Athlete of the Year
Scott Morgan (Vancouver) – Gymnastics
Jared du Toit (Kimberley) – Golf
Evan Dunfee (Richmond) – Athletics

Following are previous winners of Sport BC awards from golf with year, name and category.

Year      Name                    Category               

2014 – Kevin Kwon (JUNIOR MALE ATHLETE)
2014 – Dale Jackson (OFFICIAL OF THE YEAR)
2011 - Christine Wong (JUNIOR FEMALE ATHLETE)
2010 – Adam Svensson (JUNIOR MALE ATHLETE)
2008 – Eugene Wong (JUNIOR MALE ATHLETE)
2008 – Jackie Little (MASTER ATHLETE)
2007 – Alison Murdoch (MASTER ATHLETE)
2007 – Jack McDonald (OFFICIAL OF THE YEAR)
2005 – James Lepp (SENIOR MALE ATHLETE)
2004 – Bob Mullock (DARYL THOMPSON AWARD)
2003 – James Lepp (SENIOR MALE ATHLETE)
2001 – James Lepp (JUNIOR ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Male or Female)
2001 – Junior Men’s America’s Cup Golf (TEAM RECIPIENTS)
1998 – George Stokes (MASTER ATHLETE)
1997 – Gordon Scutt (JUNIOR ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Male or Female)
1989 – Doug Roxburgh (SENIOR ATHLETE - Male of Female)
1984 – Brent Franklin (JUNIOR ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Male or Female)
1983 – David Wilkinson (HIGH SCHOOL ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Athletics/Golf)