BC's Macdonald & Rowe Capture Peruvian Amateur Titles

Vancouver's Stuart Macdonald (R) And Victoria's Lawren Rowe (L) Represented British Columbia Golf In Fine Fashion Winning The Team Title And Coming In 1st And 3rd Individually - Image Courtesy Golf Canada

British Columbia’s Stuart Macdonald (Vancouver) and Lawren Rowe (Victoria) teamed up to secure a five-stroke victory on Saturday at the Lima Golf Club en route to capturing the Peruvian International Amateur Championship - The XXIX Campeonato Internacional De Afficionados - and with it the prestigious Manuel Prado Cup.

The pair were led by Macdonald—a member of Team Canada’s National Amateur Squad—who paced the field at 7-under par (70-72-68-71), good for a three-stroke cushion and medallist honours, taking home the Carlos Raffo Cup, awarded to the individual Champion. The last Canadian to win that honour was Victoria, BC’s Craig Doell in 2002.

Macdonald’s strongest performance came during Friday’s third round, where the Purdue University alum carded a bogey-free 68 (-4). It also marks another strong international performance for the second-year Team Canada product, who recently made the round of 16 in both the Australian and New South Wales Amateur Championships.

Rowe, a University of Victoria junior, fired a final-round 71 to solidify his place inside the top-5, finishing tied for third at 3-under par.

B.C.'s duo of Kevin Carrigan and David Rose won the event back in 2013. Hall-of-Famer Warren Sye took home the hardware in 1997 alongside fellow Ontarian Brian McCann.

Click here for full scoring