• Attending the Flag - Rules Video

    Sept 24, 2014

    Jim Lee (British Columbia Golf)

    Seems simple enough.  When can a player request that the flag be attended?  The answer, found in Rule 17 may surprise you.  The Rules Crew from the Southern California Golf Association has the answer.  Just make sure that your request doesn't come back on you.   Watch the video

  • Video: SCGA Rules Crew - Cut or Cracked Ball (Rule 5-3)

    Ever wondered when you can take a ball out of play?  Bruised? Dirty? Cut? Bent out of Shape?

  • Green Speeds and Your Game

    August 22, 2014
    Jim Lee (British Columbia Golf)

    In this USGA video, a stimpmeter is used to show how a superintendent measures the speed of greens. For the golfer, the video provides information on how green speeds impact the speed of play by creating conditions which some golfers have difficulty with. Green speeds also help to determine hole locations, since more sloped portions of greens shoudn't be used with higher green speeds. 

    The superintendent is looking for consistency across all greens and the practice putting surface. While green speeds of 10 and above are common at professional events, the average golfer will play better with slower speeds. Ask in the proshop what the green speeds are at your course, and see how they impact your putting. Click here to watch this video.

  • Video: SCGA Rules Crew - Interfering Ball On The Fairway (Rule 22 - 2)

    The Southern California Golf Association Rules Crew add their humorous touch to the interpretation of rules with nicely produced videos. This video shows the proper ruling on an interfering ball on the fairway.

  • Local Rules on the 18th at Pebble Beach

    August 15, 2014
    Jim Lee (British Columbia Golf)

    David Fay explains how and why a local rule was applied to the 18th hole at Pebble Beach, prior to the 2010 US Open. Of particular interest is the local rule developed to account for the lateral water hazard - the Pacific Ocean. Here's how the USGA made the game a little simpler and faster by developing a local rule for use at the event. 

    Watch the video

  • Annika Gets Relief - USGA Rules Video

    July 29, 2014
    Jim Lee (British Columbia Golf)

    Annika Sorenstam was faced with an unplayable situation during the 2003 US Women's Open. Her shot to the 18th green came to rest under a spectator fence, and behind the scoreboard. Both were ruled to be temporary immovable objects, but which one of these would apply to the ruling? In this video from the USGA you'll hear the rules official explain the ruling to Annika and see how her recovery shot turns out. See how Rule 24 is applied in this situation. 

    Watch the video

  • Nick Faldo Climbs a Tree - Rules Video

    July 18, 2014

    Jim Lee (British Columbia Golf)

    RICHMOND - During the 1992 US Open at Pebble Beach, Nick Faldo's errant drive apparently gets stuck in a tree.  Much to the amusement of spectators and the television announcer, Nick decides to climb the tree, but what are the rules implications if he finds it, or worse, dislodges it?

    Watch the video

  • Love Gets Lucky Break For Win - Rules Video

    During the final round of the 2003 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am, Davis Love III missed his shot but ended up getting a lucky break when his shot hit a photographer behind the green.  This rules video from the USGA shows how the rule was applied and how Love ended up winning the event with this lucky break with an outside agency.  Rule 19 - 1 applied to this situation.

    Watch the video here.

    Image courtesy of stjudeclassic.com


  • Rules Video - Ernie Els Plays From Hazard

    June 30, 2014

    Jim Lee (British Columbia Golf)

    RICHMOND, BC - During the 1994 US Open played at Oakmont Country Club in Oakmont Pennsylvania, Ernie Els' tee shot finds a water hazard - but there's no water in it.  The hazard has been marked as a lateral water hazard.  The vegetation is thick and its probably muddy.  But Els has a choice - play it as it lies or take a stroke penalty and a drop. 

    Els decides to play the ball as it lies.  Its a shot normal golfers probably wouldn't try, but it works out fine for him.  He goes on to win the event in a 3 way playoff against Colin Montgomerie and Loren Roberts.

    Watch the video.

    Photo courtesy of by Stuart Franklin (Sportingheroes.net)


  • Tiger Woods - from the fringe

    June 20, 2014

    Jim Lee (British Columbia Golf)

    RICHMOND - In this rules video from the USGA, in 2002 Tiger Woods accomplishes something he probably hasn't done very often - land a ball on an adjacent green.  But the ball is not quite on the green, its resting up against the fringe around the green.  In playing the shot though, his feet have to be on the green.  Watch the video to see the ruling.

    Photo courtesy of Wikipedia, taken October, 2002